Views: 13031

2013 Chevrolet SS Racecar Commercial Carjam TV Car TV Show

CARJAM TV - Subscribe Here Now
Like Us Now On Facebook:
For The World's Best Car Videos
The Chevrolet SS is the name of the upcoming full-size sedan and will slot above the Impala in the Chevrolet lineup. It will go on sale as a 2014 model year vehicle in 2013 and will be manufactured by General Motors' Australian subsidiary Holden while using the GM Zeta platform. It will be sold in rear-wheel drive form.[1]
The SS is set to debut at the 2013 Daytona 500 and on the same day in Australia where it will be sold as a Holden VF Commodore.
Super Sport, or SS, is the signature performance option package offered by Chevrolet, a United States Auto Maker, on a limited number of its vehicles. All SS models come with distinctive "SS" markings on their exterior. The package was first made available for the 1961 Impala.[1] Some of the other models bearing the SS badge include the Camaro, Chevelle, El Camino, Monte Carlo, and Nova. Current SS models are produced by the GM Performance Division.
General Motors Company's Australian subsidiary Holden also offered a SS package on some of its vehicles. The Commodore SS is a sedan while the Ute SS is a two-door coupe utility.
n 1961, the SS "kit" was offered on any Impala for just $53.80. The package included Super Sport trim for both the interior and exterior, chassis reinforcements, stronger springs and shocks, power brakes, spinner wheel covers and narrow-band whitewall tires. The car's dashboard received a Corvette style passenger hand bar and a steering column mounted 7000-rpm tachometer. Chevrolet built 491,000 Impalas that year and 453 had the SS package, of which 311 received the 348-cid and 142 received the 409 cid.

Until the Impala SS was brought back in 1994, the Super Sport package was only available on two-door passenger cars. Since then, however, the SS package has been used on a variety of GM vehicles, including pickup trucks, four-door sedans, and front wheel drive cars. Both historically and today, the Super Sport package has typically included high-performance tires, heavy-duty suspension, and increased power, along with a variety of other performance and appearance upgrades.
The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (often shortened to Sprint Cup or the Cup Series) is the top racing series of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR). The series is named for its current sponsor, Sprint Nextel, and has been known by other names in the past. It was originally known as the Strictly Stock Series (1949) and shortly became the Grand National Series (1950--1970). While leasing its naming rights to R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, it was known as the Winston Cup Series (1971--2003). A similar deal was made with NEXTEL in 2003, becoming the NEXTEL Cup Series (2004--2007)[1] and it became the Sprint Cup after Sprint acquired NEXTEL in 2005. The name "Sprint" refers specifically to the corporation of the same name; sprint car racing is a separate racing discipline.
Cup Series records

Most wins for one year model car: 59 cup wins (years 1957--1960), 1957 Chevrolet.
Most championships: 7-(tied) Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt
Most Chase For The Cup Championships: Jimmie Johnson (5)
Most Consecutive Championships: 5, Jimmie Johnson (2006--2010)
Youngest champion: Bill Rexford, 23 years old
Oldest champion: Bobby Allison, 45 years old
Fewest victories in a championship season: 1-(tied) Benny Parsons, Bill Rexford, Ned Jarrett, Matt Kenseth
Most career wins: 200, Richard Petty
Most wins in the modern era (1972--present): 87, Jeff Gordon
Fewest starts before a win (tied) 2: Jamie McMurray, 2002 UAW-GM Quality 500, Trevor Bayne, 2011 Daytona 500
Most wins in a season: 27, Richard Petty
Most wins in a modern era season: 13 (tied), Jeff Gordon and Richard Petty
Most Top 10's in a modern era season: 30, Jeff Gordon (2007)
Most starts in a career: 1,185, Richard Petty
Smallest margin of victory: 0.002 seconds (tied): Jimmie Johnson, 2011 Aaron's 499; Ricky Craven, 2003 Carolina Dodge Dealers 400
Largest margin of victory by laps: 22 laps, Ned Jarrett, Spartanburg 1965
Largest margin of victory by distance: 19.25 miles (30.98 km), Ned Jarrett, 1965 Southern 500
Most consecutive seasons with at least one win: 18, Richard Petty, 1960--1977
Most consecutive starts: 788 starts, Ricky Rudd (Called "Iron Man")
Youngest race winner: Joey Logano, 19 years, 35 days (2009 Lenox Tools 301)
Youngest Daytona 500 winner: Trevor Bayne, 20 years, 1 day, 2011
Fastest qualifying speed: Bill Elliott, 212.809 mph at Talladega (1987 Winston 500)

added on 19 Nov. 2013

Make: Chevrolet


Add your favourite
car TV commercials & videos

Follow on